TPO 46

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The opinions of celebrities, such as famous entertainers and athletes, are more important to younger people than they are to older people.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The opinions of celebrities sometimes affect our way of thinking. I admit that there are many opinions about the influence of celebrities; however, I think that these opinions have more impact on young people than they do on older people. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following essay.

To begin with, young people have more opportunities to get in touch with the opinions of celebrities through the internet. There is no denying that many young people use social media such as Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram to get information from celebrities. This information sometimes has a large impact on their daily lives. For example, some famous actors said that the comic called "Demon Slayer" was exciting several months ago. A lot of young noticed that opinion, and many of them started to read the Demon Slayer. Young people around us now always share their impressions through social media. On the other hand, older people around me do not know why Demon Slayer is so popular among young people because they are not familiar with social media.

Next, older people do not tend to change their opinions compared to younger people. People build their values or way of thinking through their lives. Older people already have gotten touch many viewpoints. As a result, it is hard to change their points of view. On the other hand, young people can change their way of thinking more flexible. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was a freshman at university, I participated in a seminar with my friends about building a startup company by a famous entrepreneur. The speaker said that building a startup company is not risk these days. After the seminar, I decided to create a startup with my friends. However, my parents opposed this idea, and they recommended me to work at a big company. Even after I introduced what I heard in the seminar, they did not change their opinion.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that the opinions of celebrities have more impact on younger people than they do on older people. This is because young people have more chances to get information about celebrities through the internet, and it is hard for older people to change their way of thinking.