TPO 51

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

There is no denying that many people watch movies and television these days. And they have some huge effects on young people. I grant that there are many opinions about this topic; however, I can't entirely agree that these materials have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. I feel this way for mainly two reasons for that I will explain in the following essay.

Firstly, young people can find what they really want to do by watching television and movies. There are a lot of televisions and movies such as comedy, drama, animation. These materials can grow young people's curiosity and expand their points of view. Young people may find what they are really interested in through watching television and movies. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was in high school, I happened to watch an SF movie with my family. Although my parents did not think that the movie was interesting, It was fascinating and made me become interested in science. After that, I decided to major in engineering at university. Consequently, I am now working for an electronic device manufacturing company as an engineer, and I am delighted with my current jobs. If I had not seen the movie, I would not have been an engineer.

Next, young people can build good relationships with their friends by watching TV and movies. Some TV shows and movies are viral among young people. They often share their impressions about televisions and movies. This promotes their communication and helps them to make friends with others. For example, when I was in elementary, I did not have many friends at school. I was shy, and I did not know how to communicate with classmates. One day, I realized that many classmates talk about a popular TV show among children. I started to watch the TV show and found it very humorous. I immediately shared my impression with my classmates. Through this experience, I was able to get rid of my difficulties in communicating with classmates.

In conclusion, I can't entirely agree with the statement that movies and television do more harm than good to young people's behavior. This is because watching these materials helps young people find what they are really interested in and build good relationships with their friends.