Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: it's better to make friends with intelligent people than with people who have a sense of humor?

In contemporary society, where no man is an island, it comes as no surprise that maintaining the bonds with friends have always been amongst individuals’ top priorities. A simple recognition of this argument leads our discussion to the controversial issues of which kind of person we should associate with. Some adhere to the belief that the intelligent people should be given perference. An alternative strategy is to make friends with the humorous ones. I am inclined to concur with the first idea, and in the ensuing paragraph the rationale behind this statement will be elaborated.

The foremost factor tipping the advantage from the latter to the former is the peer pressure, an effective incentive for the juvenile to monotonously expand their scope of knowledge. As is often the case, those who overshadow other companions, especially the youth, will hug themselves and appear an air of contempt for their fellows, consciously or unconsciously. Under such circumstance, a teenager with high self-esteem and emulation conceivably force themselves to exert themselves to catch up. Whenever their ardor gets flagging, recalling the shame of being looked upon definitely lays a stepping stone to elevating their spirt immensely. It goes without saying that the indomitable courage will ultimately yield a result of more competence.

Another significant reason that deserves attention is that we are more than likely to become knowledgable when mingling with the encyclopedic partners on account of the pronounced fact that we can learn from their remarkable tactics of tackling an insuperable connundrums. My own experience is an compelling example of this point. There was a time when I was stuck in the trouble of preparing for my Tofel speaking exam. Due to my weak foundation, I could not speak fluently, coherently and clearly, even though the practice has drain my energy compeletely. Fatigued, pathetic and desperately, I felt the apprehension going through my head and was on the verge of tears. It was at my lowest ebb that I met my friend Tom who had excellent mastery of oral English. Then he imparted the knacks of pronounciation, accent, tone to me. Frankly speaking, I would not have hit the target in the following exam without such enlightment.

With all factors taken into consideration, we can logically reach the conclusion that it is more advisable to cement the friendship with the ingenious mates instead of the witty. After all, the peer pressure and the skill from them is an integral ingredient of the intellectual development.