Some people think that we should keep away from others to improve our relationship, because being away from people reminds us of how important they are. Others think we should always stay with others to have good relationship because we can communicate wi

In contemporary society, where rarely can a person live without interacting with others, it comes as no surprise that cementing the relationship have always been amongst the individuals’ top priorities. A simple recognition of the argument leads our discussion to a controversial issue of how close we should keep to our acquaintances. Some adhere to the belief that keeping distance with us is beneficial to remind us of the pivital roles of others. An alternative strategy competing with it is to always stay with others, which is more than likely to provide us with bountiful opportunities to associate with them. I am inclined to concur with the second idea, and in the ensuing paragraph the rationale will behind the statement will be further elaborated.

The foremost factor tipping the competitive advantage away from the former to the latter is the effectiveness. Nothing can alter the fact that misunderstanding is the constant companion of the interpersonal relationship. Provided that a companion shuns you without any warning, you may be confused at first and then wander whether you have offended him/her. Having racked your brain about the conundrum, you have no option but ascribe the weird behavior to the pure antipathy, which presumably jeopardizes the rapport despite his/her good intention. In the contrast, the permanent connection defintely lays a stepping stone leading toward mutual trust, thus eliminating such unneccessary misapprehensions and frictions.

Another significant reason that deserves attention is that tackling the problems through the other’s aid when we are involved in difficulties, predicaments or delimmas is beneficial to the relationship. As a matter of fact, a crippling disadvantage suffered from by the first standpoint is the deficiency of the company and communication, the essential ingredient of assistance. My own experience is a compelling example of this point. There was a time when I stuck in the trouble of preparing for the tofel speaking. Due to my weak foundation, I cannot speak intelligibly, flunently, coherently, even though the practice have drained my energy completely. Fatigued, pathetic and desperate, I felt the apprehension going through my head and I was on the verge of tears. It was the my lowest ebb that my partner Tom who often accompanied me noticed my panic. He channeled my emotion, gave me a pat on the back and then patiently taught me to shrink the insuperable hurdle down to a manageable thing by virtue of setting a series of small goal. Frankly speaking, without the morale drawn from his consolation, I would not have accomplished the monotonous and tiring practices, which yielded a satisfactory grade in the exam. Needless to say, thus was the rock-solid friendship forged between us.

With all the above factors taken into consideration, we can logically reach the conclusion that we should put a premium on the active association instead of the alienation when handling fellowship.