Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The most important problems affecting our society today could be solved within our lifetime

This topic refers to the most serious problems we are facing today. They involve infectious diseases, famine, and global warming and the like. In this essay, I will first talk about infectious diseases, which are still agonizing us worldwide, mainly because I am a university student specializing in medicine. In my opinion, Infectious diseases will hopefully be curable within our lifetime. After that, I will discuss the global warming in favor of the presented idea. I will further discuss this matter in the following sentences, developing my viewpoint from two perspectives.

First of all, we have developed antibiotics and vaccines from the nineteenth century. They are so strong that we have diminished the number of victims to some infectious diseases. Specifically, we have won the fight against the smallpox some fifty years ago, which had long been a dreadful disease with no preventative medication. People one hundred years ago could not have imagined the triumph over this awful disease. Thus, it is not an exaggeration to state that we would eventually overcome every disease in the near future. This is why I think one of the most serious problems will be solved within our lifetime.

Another reasons is the unprecedented rate of scientific progress. Since the scientific revolution which was accompanied by the industrial revolution in the nineteenth century, the science is making progress with a mesmerizing rate. It has developed transportation system, connected two remote places together via the internet through the undersea cables, and predict the weather using supercomputers. Science has served as a catalyst for social changes. Therefore, the problems we are facing today, such as global warming, would definitely be solved in some decades. We can foresee what would happen if we continue to burn fossil fuels or damp plastic straws into the sea. It requires our best possible efforts to curb the progression of such problems, but I am convinced that we can struggle to solve them. In fact, some companies are already moving forward to stop the environmental problems. As far as I know, some famous coffee chains have substituted paper straws for plastic ones. These small steps will lead to the solution to the environmental problems like global warming.

Drawing from these examples, the problems today will surely be solved within this century so I subscribe to the presented idea.