Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Opinions divide when it comes to the issue of the negative effects of movies and television, with some people thinking that the electronic screens can be harmful to children, while others claiming that their advantages weight more. From my perspective, I agree with the former and contend that movies and television would have pessimistic effects on kids\' study and health.

First of all, watching movies and television can greatly decrease students\' grades. For one thing, we may pay attention to the long-time drama on T.V.. Nowadays, to attract more audience, most stations would split one funny show into several parts and tend to buy longer dramas. That is to say, when watching television, its set would make children sitting in front of it all day. As a result, students would have few time studying, leading to their lower scores. For another thing, though some parents may control children\'s time for watching television, we cannot deny its appealing feature. Given that the drama is constant everyday, children will no doubt thinking about the following plots after seeing one chapter, because of which then children would be absent-minded when studying. Thus, these electronic screens can be too attractive to make students focus on their study.

Secondly, movies and television can also destroy kids\' health to some extent. To illustrate, let\'s return to its time-consuming feature as we mentioned above. Different from the past children\'s enough time for running after class, in the present, most kids lack enough exercise due to their tied schedule. Under this circumstance, if children still use their poor free time for watching movies, there should be no spare time for them to do sports. Therefore, it is vital for young people to watch less television and do more sports. Furthermore, as for children\'s mental health, the movies and television can also make bad effects. Since there are many violent movies or dirty jokes in the Internet, students are easy to find access to those shows. Considering they are in such an age that easily be affected by others, then their personalities and characteristics would be led to the wrong way. Therefore, movies and television can affect children\'s mental health.

Admittedly, there are some advantages for watching television. For instance, children can learn what is going on around the world by watching news and broaden their horizons through various documents, which also benefits their study. However, young people can also enjoy this advantage by reading newspapers while no need to bear the aforementioned risks. Accordingly, children should watch these devices less.

All in all, despite its potential benefits, I still hold the view that movies and television can bring young people more disadvantages over advantages, because they would not only affect students\' study, but also harm children\'s health physically and mentally.