Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Teachers were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they are nowadays Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Barely no other topics receive more attention than education. With the development of our technology, sources can be accessed in many ways. I certainly agree that teachers can be replaced by some technologies in some degree.

First of all, lots of electronic devices which have artificial intelligence can assist with our homework. For example, if I miss some class or want to know extra knowledge, Wikipedia and YouTube are good choices for me to self-study. Also, facing with the difficult problem, I can use many apps to solve it such as YouTube. During the pandemic, I could not study at school, YouTube offers me an easy way to study at home. Studying online is easier and more convenient to figure out the problem than to ask teachers. However, in the past, the only way that can gain knowledge is from teachers, and the Internet cannot be accessed. Therefore, the importance of teachers may be not as much as before, and studying online will become the mainstream. Not only the development of technology undermines the status of teachers, but also awakening of students\' mind.

Moreover, the authority of teachers decreases because students are taught to focus more on critical thinking and have their own thought. Thus, students may doubt about their teachers. In contrast, in the past, teachers were authoritative, and students thought that whatever their teachers said is true and they should respect teachers. For example, in ancient China, most people in China were Confucianism, and they believed that teachers were an important role in the society. All of people must respect their teachers even the emperor, and teachers had very high social status. Therefore, the influence of past teachers is greater than present teachers.

Some people may argue that teachers cannot be replaced by the internet and devices entirely. However, in present class, every teacher must take responsibility and educate hundreds of students in a grade in China, and they have not got enough effort to pay good attention to every student. However, in the past, one teacher only needed to teach several students, and they could know much about all the students. When the teachers cannot help every student, students may get annoyed to the teachers because they may think that teachers do not care about them. Also, they will have less time to ask questions to teachers, so education apps can fix this gap, and students may start to rely on them. Thus, the influence of the teachers will get less.

All in all, teachers in the past had greater influence than present teachers because of the changes of their social status and the development of technology. Learning without teachers, students can still receive knowledge from lots of ways.