Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Movies and television have more negative effects than positive effects on the way young people behave. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

While some movies contain violence such as using guns to kill others and knives to hurt somebody, this kind of movie has been restricted to adults and teenagers under eighteen are not allowed to watch those movies in the theater. Also, TV shows are divided into different catagories for people of different ages, and thus those consisting of sexual or violent plots are only for adults. Hence, young people have little access to those movies or shows where scenes are full of blood and dirty words.

In terms of positive effects, young people can gain much knowledge concerning communicating or social skills which will benefit them when they graduate from university. Movies about the company can teach them how to talk in an appropriate way with colleagues or bosses. TV shows about the family can inform them of the way to behave at the table during meals. For example, in a TV series, a naughty boy was critized by his mother for talking loudly when eating, then young people watching this episode will pay more attention to eating habits and avoid talking later. Although those positive effects are not obvious, young people can be influenced greatly as they pay attention to the plots or the character.

Besides, the destiny of characters in different films are usually different, and therefore young people can get to know what kind of person they want to be. With little life experience, young people are not familiar with the jobs and they sometimes lose energy and goals. Students who dislike homework will become diligent and industrious once they find that those lazy people in the films struggle to get a highly paid job in the fierce market. Students who enjoy laughing at classmates will stop making jokes when those characters are so annoying on TV. Movies and televison can motivate students when they are unwilling to study, encourage them when they are depressed and disoriented, and change their way of talking with classmates and their teachers.

In a nutshell, although negative effects can exist in movies and television which may cause bad behavior, positive effects are much more significant in teaching young people the right way they behave.