Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One can learn about another person by the books and movies that person likes.

When it comes to different types of movies and books, we are more likely to think about those who have preference for certain themes of books and types of movies. While some contend that one’s preference on books and movies can not help us learn about a person. I believe we can discover something from a person through what books and movies they like.

First off, the characteristics can be revealed via the books and movies one likes. That is to say, people tend to be keen on those books and movies which match their personalities. So, we can accordingly assume their personalities from what they read or watch. Specifically, for those like adventurous or horror films, they are more likely to crave for thrilling experiences. Likewise, those who like rom-com movies have high possibility to be family-oriented. A friend of mine, Tony, is a good case in point. Tony is a very bravery person who always give some thrilling things a shot like rock-climbing and bungee jumping. I’ve once stopped by his apartment and I was shocked back then. What I have seen was a big collection of horror or adventurous books and movies varied from China to America. It is obviously that these books serve as a better indication of the personality-courage and adventure-of Tony.

What’s more, the books and movies that one has preference for can reflect the person’s current concern. Meaning that they probably have some issues or problems to deal with when they are inclined with certain types of books or movies. As a sophomore, there were always a lot of assignments and activities for me to attend to. Sometimes, I was stretched way too thin and felt stressed out when dealing with too much things like my literature essay, field trip and lots of parties at one time. However, the books and movies full of imagination like Harry Potter offered me a temporary outlet for the hustle and bustle of real life. My depression and frustration easily went away when I saw a magic world they brought. In this case, you can easily find out the problem I bumped up against by checking out what I red during that tough time.

Some would argue that books and movies are not the whole life for one’s life. Yes, it is true under certain circumstances, but if you take a closer look, books and movies always give us some clues about their characteristics, their concerns, their state of mind and so forth to a large extent because they take us most of the time to appreciate.

Needless to say, I highly vote for the idea that we can learn many about a person through the books they read and movies they watch.