Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

One can learn about another person by the books and movies that person likes.

It is a highly debated issue whether or not one can learn about another person by the books and movies that person likes, and this topic can be approached from several angles due to its complexity. Some people believe that what we read and watch reflect directly on whom we are. I understand this point of view, but I have a different opinion. I believe that we can not know about the person from what he reads or watches, and the following discussion reveals my stand and reasoning.

To begin with, the only way to know a person is by staying with him for a long time in a same place. We always say the first impression is the false one, that’s mean we can’t know a person on the reality until we experience things with him, so, definitely, we will not know him by knowing what he reads or watches. For instance, when I came to the U.S. in 2009, I met a woman and she was from my original country. We became as a best friend after a while. But after two years, I discovered many bad things about her, that I couldn’t imagine that she would do it in one day. Even though I was so honest with her, she was totally lying on me all the time. From that experience I could say that, If we have a direct contact with some people and it is hard to know about them, it is simply impossible to learn about them from knowing what they prefer to read or watch.

Secondly, some people prefer to watch and read an opposite staff to their real personality. When you see some one likes action movies, that doesn’t prove in anyway the person is like to live in action, he might be the opposite and could be a boring person. For example, my husband likes to read a lot of mysteries and crimes books, he really enjoy it. I lived with my husband for ten years know, and I see him get scared easily and most of the time, he doesn’t like mysterious things in the real life. Also, he is a peaceful person. As you could see, what he reads doesn’t reflect on who is he in the real life.

Last but not least, some people use reading books or watching television to help them to relax, and it doesn’t mean anything more than that. I will talk about myself as an example. I read comics books and I watch a lot of comedy TV shows, but I way far from being a funny person. Actually, I’m a pretty serious person, in my life and in my work. So, you can’t tell from what I read and watch, who Am I?

In conclusion, I don’t believe that we could learn about people from knowing what they reads or what they watch. Some people like to do things that are opposite to their realities. Also, we need a direct contact with the person to learn about him.