Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One can learn about another person by the books and movies that person likes.

Reading books and watching movies can open up one’s mind and horizon. People love to do what they are interested in to relax themselves after a busy day. Some people believe that what we read and watch would reflect who we are. In my perspective, I agree that people can get some clues about someone’s personalities by the books and movies he watches.

To begin with, people would search for the information that they care about. In the book store, business, politics, health, and travel are the most popular topics. Someone who bought a book about travel may indicate that he is planning for a trip; a person who bought a book that introduces healthy eating habits may be reflected that he wants to have a healthy life. If we meet a person for the first time, the books or movie introductions hold in his hand is a good topic to start a friendly talk.

In addition, the books and movies will illustrate the writer’s opinions and values. If someone agrees with the ideas in them, he would cite the ideas in his life. For instance, there are several books that indicated that the straw people used in daily life, would hurt mammals like turtles or whales in the ocean- mammals would consider straws as their food and cause death. The people who agree on this issue would probably use a paper straw instead of a plastic straw. As a result, if we see someone use a paper straw, we can imagine that he cares about environmental issues.

By contrast, not everyone would suitable for this statement. Actions are louder than words, we should observe people from what they do rather than what they read. Someone who likes to watch comedy does not mean that he is a funny person. We should take these as a reference, but not a fixed impression.

In sum, what the books and movies we love would represent part of us, it means that we believe in a certain faith. These books and movies provide a way that people could learn another person from them. However, we still have to get together with someone if we want to know more about him.