Do you agree or disagree with the following statement One can learn about another person by the books and movies that person likes

Nowadays, relationships have become more complicated due to the increasing use of technology to communicate as well as inadequate time to be spent on in-person relationships. Consequently, people have fewer opportunities to learn about each other. While some people believe that one of the best ways to know about a person's characteristics is noticing her favourite movies and books, I think this is not an appropriate way to judge someone's personality. In what follows, I will pinpoint the two most prominent reasons to elaborate on my viewpoint.

First and foremost, while the category of movies one likes has everything to do with his/her feelings, the cause of interest in a specific genre may be completely different from person to person. Some people like a particular type of movie to intensify their inner feelings. In contrast, other people like that genre to compensate for the lack of some emotions inside them. For example, some people are interested in comedy movies because they are sad inside and want to balance their feelings, but other ones may like the same movies since they have inner happiness and want to boost their bliss. As a result, it is misleading to judge people's personality types by their favourite movies.

Secondly, as humankind's nature desires variety, many people like various types of movies and books, and they don't have a particular taste. People may watch a movie or read a book that is consistent with their temporary and constantly changing moods. In addition, regarding books they read, many people are inclined towards the books written by well-known authors without considering the subject of books. For instance, I like watching many types of movies. When I am sad, I like to see action movies, when I am stressed, I prefer comedy ones, when I am with my friends we watch romance and horror movies and so on. So, if I was asked my favourite movie genre, I could not name just one category. Undoubtedly, those kind of people who like different kinds of movies and books are neither complex nor fickle. So, the conclusion about one's personality according to these criteria leads to a superficial judgement.

In a nutshell, it's not logical to decide about one's attributes through their affection to a certain type of movies or books because the reason for the interest in a specific category is different occasionally, and many people like a wide spectrum of books and movies.