Some young people (14-18) tend to divide their free time to participate in several activities, such as competitive sports, piano, and dance classes. Others prefer to focus on one activity. Which one do you think is better?

Nowadays, there are a plethora of activities that people can choose to do in their leisure time. These activities vary from age to age. Most of the parents plan to enroll their young children in classes like music, dance, sports, to name but a few. In this vein, some young people prefer to attend various classes while others tend to choose one activity. In my opinion, attending one particular class is more beneficial for the young, and I will explain my viewpoint in the following essay.

First and foremost, by concentrating on one activity, young people are more likely to achieve success in that particular area in the future. It is no secret that practice makes perfect. Young people who put all their energy and time into one activity and try to be best in their most favorite area for a long period of time would be able to foster their ability, find and fix their weak spots, and become adept in that area. Wasting their time and energy, attending different classes makes young children tired and unwilling to progress in one specific area. For instance, when I was young, I used to take part in tennis, swimming, painting, and singing classes. I never had enough time to practice whatever I had learned in those classes. I really enjoyed those classes, but I never learned any of those activities well. In contrast, my brother used to attend violin classes since he was 6. Now, he can play the violin perfectly. This is because he focused on one activity and eventually harvested the results of his efforts.

Secondly, attending several classes puts lots of financial pressure on parents. Extra-curriculum activities like participating in such classes need a large deal of money. Recreation centers offer classes that are usually expensive. If children attend several classes, the prices add up and become a significant amount. At this age, parents usually have to spend a lot on their children's education and school stuff like books, uniforms, and leisure time activities. The problem is not only the fees paid for classes. To be more specific, children usually attend these classes with their friends or sometimes find new friends during their classes. Most of them like to hangover with their friends and eat some snacks or drink in the cafeteria adjacent to their classes. In addition, they spend some money to commute between their classes and home. Consequently, the more classes they attend, the more significant deal of money they should pay. So, parents should put aside a large deal of money to cover all the aforementioned expenses.

In a nutshell, I believe that youngsters should focus on one activity rather than attend several activities. This is because by allocating their time and concentration on one activity, they can better learn the activity and become successful at it, and participating in one activity is more economical.