Some young people 14 18 tend to divide their free time to participate in several activities such as competitive sports piano and dance classes Others prefer to focus on one activity Which one do you think is better

Some people prefer the idea that young students spend their time in doing one activity to develop it intensively. However, I support the idea that young children should enjoy diverse different activities in their free time. I would like to explain the reasons with examples as follow.

First, I think that diverse different activities can give children many benefits such as acquiring a wide range of knowledge, meeting many talented people in different fields and having a chance to find potential ability. Current school system provides children a standardized and unified education, so it is a little difficult for young people to find their interests. For example, I sent my two daughters to have piano and art lessons from 6 years old, because the Korean school focuses mainly on teaching university exam subjects, and also I want them to learn music and art to have a good understanding of those fields.

Second, it would be very hard for young people to choose only one activity to spend all their time in childhood. So, it needs lots of time and effort to select one favorite activity to focus on. Especially, childhood is the time of physical and mental growing and they cannot expect how their interest can be changed or how their body can be grown. So, it is quite risky to invest all their time in one field in childhood. For instance, we can see many cases in Korea that young children spend their childhood time in learning only dancing and singing to become an idol singer. After failing to become a professional singer a few years later, they regret a lot in their late 20s that they can do nothing else except dancing and singing and they have a difficulty getting a job for their living.

To sum up, experiencing many activities for children gives many options for their future lives and chances to broaden their sights. In addition, it is safer than to choose only one activity in spending time, because their interests and physical conditions can be changed easily to young people. In this regard, I strongly agree with the approach that children should learn many things in their free time.