Some young people (14-18) tend to divide their free time to participate in several activities, such as competitive sports, piano, and dance classes. Others prefer to focus on one activity. Which one do you think is better?

Undoubtedly, time is the most precious thing we have in our life. In my opinion, young people should focus on one activity in their leisure time. I will explore the reasons why I feel this way in the following essay.

First of all, participating in several activities costs a lot, while youth mostly do not have that much money. Sports classes, music classes and art classes all need money, and a low-budget person cannot afford it. Ten years ago, when I was in high school, I would get pocket-money from my father. I did not have a lot of money, and I had to manage my expenses. Although I had interests in music and dance, I only planned to go to a piano class. If I had gone to the dance class too, I would have been in a money-shortage for the rest of the year. This example demonstrates why it is important to focus on one activity in youth while there is not enough money to be extravagant.

Secondly, young people are mostly students and do not have much free time to spend on several hobbies. A person can be successful in an activity if only they spend enough time on it. However, joining many activities makes a person divide their free time. As a result, they will not be successful in any of the classes. My own experience explains it well. When I was a student in middle school, I used to go to a volleyball class and a poem class. Both of those classes needed attention, and I had to practice for them. After all, I was a student, and I did not have enough free time to practice well for both of the classes. Consequently, I could not flourish in any of the activities, and I totally wasted my time.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that youth should only focus on one activity or class in their free time. This is because such people do not have enough money and free time to participate in several events.