Agree/Disagree

“Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them”

In today’s technological world, children have access to a lot of computer games. Although some people believe that children waste their time playing computer games, I think it can help them in some ways. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, children learn to manage their time when they are allowed to play computer games. Needless to say, forcing children cannot help them in the long-run and is going to mess things up. In other words, children can develop essential skills if only they have the chance to practice them. When children are allowed to play games, they should find a way to manage their time to do their homework as well. When I was in elementary school, I could play computer games as much as I wanted to. At first, I was not able to do my homework, and I was playing all day long. However, little by little, I figured out how to manage my time and do my school tasks while not being totally deprived of computer games’ joy. Had I been forced not to play computer games, maybe I would never learn how to manage my time.

Second, the children who play computer or video games are going to be more creative in their future life. In many computer games, there are a lot of situations which make the players think fast and find solutions to the problems they face. As a result, players achieve an ability which helps them to show high performance in some hard situations in real life. My brother’s experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, when he was a ten-year-old boy, he used to play strategic games on the computer. These games taught him how to think in stressful situations and get the best results he can. Some years later, he faced a big dilemma in his career, but he could make a creative decision that solved the problem.

In conclusion, I believe children should be allowed to play games on computers because it not only helps them to learn time-management but also assists them in being more creative in real life.