In some countries, people are no longer allowed to smoke in many public places and office buildings. Do you think this is a good rule or a bad rule?

Many people smoke around the world. Although some people think smokers should be allowed to smoke in public places, I firmly believe a rule should be passed not to let them smoke in a public room. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs. (54 w)

First, smoking hurts other people’s health, while the smoker has no right to do so. According to recent research, cigarettes’ fume is much more harmful to other people rather than the smokers themselves. One is free to do whatever they want with their health but not with that of other people. A few months ago, when I went to a mall near my house, there was a man there who was smoking without a pause. I remember I was feeling awful when I came back home, and a bothersome headache occurred to me. This example shows how smokers can bother other people besides themselves. As the government should defend the citizens’ rights and health, it should take action regarding the smoking issue. (124 W)

Second, smokers can smoke outdoors or in special places like smoking rooms. Smoking rooms are well designed to fulfill smokers’ need for smoking, and at the same time, the non-smokers’ health won’t be affected. For example, there is a smoking room in our office, which helps smokers have a comfortable place to smoke. On the other hand, I, as someone who hates smoke and its odor, am not forced to stand its harm.

Third, smoking in public places encourages other people to smoke, especially the youth. Young people and teenagers are at a crucial age, in which they are significantly influenced by others. This means that the more smokers smoke in public places, the more young adults start to smoke, which is very harmful to society. My brother’s example illustrates this point well. A few years ago, when he was 18, my brother used to go to a coffee shop to socialize with other people. There were many people there who were addicted to cigarettes, encouraging younger adults to join them. After a while, my brother started to smoke, and unfortunately, he is still addicted to it. Had not the smokers been allowed to smoke in that coffee shop, my brother would not be a smoker now.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that smokers should not be allowed to smoke in public paces because not only does it hurt other people’s health, but also there are some special places available to smokers to smoke in.