Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork.

In today’s fast-paced world, most parents have little time for their children. Although some people believe that it is better to use that time to help the children with their schoolwork, I firmly think busy parents should spend their free time playing with their kids. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

First, busy parents have the opportunity to strengthen their relationship with their children by playing games or having fun. Children are very into games due to their curiosity, and as a result, one of the best ways of communicating with them is playing games or sports. As many parents do not have enough time due to their jobs, it is very important for them to build a strong bond with their kids. Thus, the children will be mentally healthier in the future and can always count on their parents. My own example illustrates this point vividly. When I was an elementary school student, my parents were both employed and could only spend two hours a day with me. However, during this small amount of time, they used to play with me with all of their hurt. I remember I was very close to them, and it helped me to never feel lonely or supportless. Even now, I still feel I can always ask for their help, and I don’t have to encounter the problems alone. It seems that if they had not played with me as a child in their little free time, I wouldn’t be intimate with them now.

Furthermore, parents who do not have a lot of time can teach moralities and values of the society to their children through play and game. Children can learn better by playing rather than listening to some advice from their parents. It is not surprising that according to a recent paper, indirect teaching is a far more useful strategy than direct teaching. Hence, busy parents can use their little time with their children to teach them virtues by means of games or sports. For example, one day ten years ago, when my father was playing basketball with me, I suddenly fell to the floor. Consequently, my father stopped the game and came to help me in spite of his chance of throwing the ball in the hoop. It may seem simple, but through this experience, I learned that it is much more important to be a kind and caring person than to be just the winner.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that preoccupied parents should spend their free time playing with their children or having fun. This is because it helps parents not only build a strong relationship with their kids, but also teach the children values and moralities indirectly.