A university recognized first year students have poor study skills in its university Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first year students have to pass course on study skills Others don t agree with this requirement

High-quality education is one of the most important issues in societies, and different approaches are being used to maximize the quality of education. One of the most challenging parts of students' academic life is when they enter the university as a freshman, and many of them have poor study skills. To solve this problem, some universities require first-year students to take courses on study skills. While some people disagree with this requirement, in my opinion, it would be the most suitable method to improve first-year students' academic performance, and I will demonstrate my viewpoint in the following essay.

First and foremost, studying for university courses is completely different from high school courses, and students should learn about these differences. Many freshmen, even ones who had a great average at high school, complain about the heavy loads of projects and difficult exams. In contrast to high school homework, assignments at the university are mostly based on research and exploring different resources to find the answer. Students should learn how to deal with this completely different kind of studying to keep pace with their classes and get good grades. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. I was always a prominent student with great grades in high school, but it was a different story when I entered university. After just a month, I was overwhelmed with many assignments that were about reading papers in different journals or doing some field works and writing reports. Since I had not done such works before, I did not have enough skill to do them, and I usually could not perfectly do my research projects. As a result, I finished the first semester with some poor grades. It wasn't pleasant for me, and it took some time to learn how to develop my research skills by myself. If our university had required us, as first-year students, to take studying skills courses, I would not have got that poor average in the first semester. So it seems that making courses about studying skills as a requirement for first-year students, puts them in the right way of studying.

Secondly, attending studying skills classes would increase students' self-confidence, and they would be more eager to study more effectively. Students can share their studying problems during these classes and realize that they are not the only ones who face those problems. Consequently, they are less likely to get disappointed about their difficulties with university courses and gain self-confidence. Moreover, as the solutions to their problems are provided in these classes, they might be more enthusiastic about evaluating those solutions and methods to see whether they are effective or not.

In a nutshell, I agree with making studying skills courses a requirement for first-year students because studying university courses is not similar to high school courses, and because these classes increase students' self-confidence and make them more willing to study.