Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? one should never judge a person by external appearances. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer .
In most cases, you shouldn't judge a person by external appearances. It is better to
reserve judgment until you have had a chance to get to know the person. judgments
based on external appearances prevent you from really getting to know a person, reinforce
stereotypes, and can lead you to conclusions that aren't true.
When you judge people by their external appearance, you lose the chance to get to
know them. In high school I stayed away from students who were called "bad students"
because they dressed a certain way. I wanted nothing to do with them. Later, I had a
chance to meet a "bad student" because his mother was a friend of my mother. Then I
realized that we actually had a lot in common. My impression of him was very different
once I got to know him.
judging people based on external appearances just reinforces stereotypes. You
might think that a person with a tattoo, for example, is not a nice person. It's easy to
start thinking that all people with tattoos are not nice people. Then you will never make
friends with people who have tattoos or want to work with them or like to live near them.
You will feel uncomfortable around them because all you will see about them is their
tattoos.
judgments based on external appearances can often lead you to conclusions that
aren't true. Maybe you know someone who dresses in old, unfashionable clothes. If all
you see are the clothes, it is easy to think that the person has bad taste or bad habits. But
maybe the truth is different. Maybe that person comes from a lessfortunate family than
you and doesn't have money. Maybe the person is working hard to save money for
school. You will never know if all you do is look at external appearance.
You should always take time to get to know new people before making judgments
about them. External appearance often does not tell us anything about a person.
judging someone by their appearance is misleading, reinforces stereotypes, and doesn't
lead to the truth. It can prevent you from making a true friend.