Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? One should never judge a person by external appearances. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Many people tend to judge other people base by their external characteristics regardless of other aspects of personality. I completely disagree with this kind of judgement. My attitude is built upon two main reasons.

First,Judging a person by his external appearance is starkly unfair as appearance alone is not enough to build a complete idea of one's personality and thoughts. Moreover, in appearance based judgement we neglect persons's background and situations that led to his current looks, so we judge a person based on an wrong and incomplete image that we build based on only one characteristic of him, his looks. One example of this is when I was on a college trip last year when I and my colleagues saw a man with one eye and lots of scars in his face, many of my colleagues said that he is a dangerous quarrelsome whom we should avoid. I reached out to him, had a quick chat with him, and I found out that this man is a war hero who defended our country and the loss of his eye and the scars on his face were a result of heroic actions and my colleagues previous judgement was so wrong and unfair.

Secondly, judging people by their looks can have devastating social impacts as it may cause us to miss new friendship opportunities. While a person might have an appearance that is different from ours or an appearance that we find strange and not understood, we may share that same ideas, the same ways of thinking but we lose the opportunity of having a relationship with a person of such similarity with us because of our judgement on him. When I was in high school, we had a strange hipster-looking guy in our class, the look that seemed very odd in our social environment. I remember my self avoiding him for three or four weeks and thinking that being a friend wit this guy will not be any good to me.Later, I ran into him during our computer class and I was amazed that he shares me the passion in computers. we sat for two hours talking about computer and didn't even feel the time passing. Now this man is my work colleague and my best friend, a relation ship that I almost missed because of an appearance based judgement.

To sum up, I find judging people by their appearance is both harmful to other people as we treat them cruelly and unfairly, and to our selves as we prohibit ourselves form some life changing experiencing.