Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In order to be well-informed, a person must get information from many different news resources. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

With the rapid development of mass media and the emergence of the Internet, information comes handy nowadays. And personally I can not agree more with the statement that in order to get well-informed, people should never only rely on single source of information because no single news resource can guarantee their news are one hundred percent authentic, nor can any of them promise to provide the most detailed and the up to date information all the time.

To begin with, many of the news resources, especially the large TV networks, sometimes provide information with biased opinions or political preference. Sometimes the media have to speak for the best interest for the local government or a specific group of people because for the news industry it is a business after all. So when you watch the local news, it may only tell you one side of the topic that is under hot debate. Yet in order to know the big picture and the whole truth, you need to go to the Internet or read the newspapers to look for different voices on the mater. And afterwards, maybe you will hold a complete different idea about the incident.

Also, in some occasions it is not enough for you to get the information you want from only one news resource. For example, sometimes the newspapers only give a brief introduction about the current affairs that you are very interested in. You may want to know the detailed social background of the event or the impact the incident may bring to the society, and these information can not be found in the newspaper you usually read. And this is the time you turn to other media to get better informed. It is essential for us to be aware of the fact that no single news resource can cover all the things you want to know. And when you can not find what you want, just turn to other media for answers.

Furthermore, different news resources focus on various subjects or aspects of our lives. There are newspapers exclusively report sports events; there are TV news programs that only comment on economic issues and there are news websites mainly explore the topics of art and music. If you only want to take a glimpse of what happens in the current world, then it is fine to just watch the news broadcast for thirty minute every night. However, if you truly want to be well-informed, you have to pay attention to different news resources that enable you have a better and deeper understanding on the things that are going on around us.

Taking the factors I have mentioned above, we can safely conclude that it is better for us to acquire knowledge and get information from as many news sources as possible.