Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

“Overall, the widespread use of the internet has a mostly positive effect on life in today's world." Use reasons and details to support your opinion.

Modern society has gained significant advances in technological side. Among these technologies internet base services are the ones that leading the way. Internet has made many changes to every aspect of society and life. Personally I believe these effects are positive. I feel this for three reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, Internet has made learning easier and enjoyable. There are free online courses offered by prestigious universities around the world. There are Youtube videos which explains complex concepts more lucidly. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I’m studying at high school, I was very weak at chemistry and I did not understand the teachings at classroom. Then I discovered a Youtube channel which teaches chemistry. After following that video course, I was able to understand chemistry and I passed chemistry with flying colours. Most importantly those videos are concise.

Secondly, E-commerce has made peoples life simple. Now they can buy things online and they do not waste time in queues. Services like amazon, eBay used to buy international products directly from the manufacturer. For instance at the university in Sri Lanka, I needed to buy books that are not avialble in Sri Lanka. Due to internet base shopping, I was able to order the book online and I received it within two days. If there was no internet, I might wait for more than month to order book and receive it. This personal experience of mine help me to realize the pros of internet and how it has help to make our lives easier.

Last but not least, Internet has improved the harmony among nations around the world. Through social media, now anyone can become a friend of anyone in the world. They share cultural values, knowledge which helps to appreciate others’ society and respect others views. For example, my friend university roommate met with an accident and we needed to do an operation to save him, but his financial situation was not so strong. Therefore we organized a fund raising program through internet. We received help from all around the world, both financial and psychological. That was greatly help my friend to success the operation.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that internet has contributed to enhance the quality of the life. We can see the popularity and spreading of internet and quality of life are parallel. As explained in the above it has helped to improve education, to make day to day activities like shopping easier and has helped to improve world peace.