Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Parents should help children to do their work or encourage children to do their work independently.

Bringing up a child is not an easy task, the core element required is an appropriate educational approach from parents. Educational specialists have been long arguing whether children should be encouraged to do work themselves or with the help from family. In my view it is fundamental that parents should assist their kids with their best efforts, especially for kids at young ages.

Of most importance, kids are prone to absorbing knowledge better with the help from adults. If they are left to struggle themselves, they may find it challenging to understand the problem thoroughly. For instances, my younger brother's classmate has difficulty coping with homework since his family members are all busy, they do not have free time to explain the lessons for him. But when I give him a hand with his study after being granted permissions from his family, the boy exhibits his intelligence for absorbing and processing information quickly: he can solve puzzling Math questions in such a creative way under the time pressure!

Moreover, parents' guide is essential for the development of child's psychology. Children who are asked to perform the tasks alone create a tendency of feeling left out by their intimate family, which does more harm than good for their psychological development at later ages. They feel that parents do not actually love or care for them, which in turn engenders a barrier between the family ties. My 14-year-old cousin now suffers from depression due to her parents' apathy towards her study. From earlier, they did not guide her with her study but always imposed pressure of excellent grades on her, resulting in both her bad grades at school and her mental collapse such that the Homeroom teacher had to invite them for a serious talk.

Last but not least, children are able to expand their Independence characteristic if they are thoroughly guided. Internet, for example, is a source with various information which sometimes contain trivial or harmful data. Under the supervision of parents, kids learn how to select the best source and to steer clear of negative websites, which in turn facilitates them to form their self- independence: they do not have to ask adults all the time to satisfy their natural curiosity anymore, they can get what they want by the exploiting the Internet.

In brief, parents should spend time and effort teaching their children instead of asking them to work on their own. Under dedicated instruction from adult, children are able to expand not only knowledge absorption, but also the later Independence characteristic. Besides, children could avoid adverse thoughts of being left out.