Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The world has been changing at an astonishing rate in the past decades, leading to enormous shifts in people's daily life. Whether we can identify a secure and successful occupation more easily than in the past has aroused a wide discussion. I hold that it was easier to recognize the jobs that were safer and more prosperous in the past.

To begin with, competition is increasing in the contemporary work market, which leads to less opportunity to grasp a prosperous job. Specifically, the number of well-educated employees is soaring with the improvement of the education system. Therefore, when more and more qualified people are applying for well-paid jobs, employers will reduce the salary to help select the candidates. As a result, this job becomes not as attractive as before. For example, programmer is an occupation with a high salary. Ten years ago, an average programmer working in Tictok could buy a house located in Beijing with ease. However, the one with moderate ability in Tictok can only pay for a house with the help of loans. Hence, we have to take the fierce competition into account when considering a career, which makes the decision more difficult.

Second, the market is constantly changing today so it is tricky to determine a prospective job. In the past, the work circumstances were relatively stable. Therefore, people usually took up only one job during their whole career. However, today, numerous workers choose to change their job frequently in order to seize the most perspective field. They are busy quitting an old job, learning new knowledge, and searching for a new job. For instance, twenty years ago, biology was a quite prosperous field that attracted considerable students and workers. Nevertheless, today, working in the field of biology is not such intriguing, and many graduates majoring in biology cannot find a satisfactory job. Thus, identifying a changing thing is more challenging.

Admittedly, we have easier access to all kinds of information today. On the Internet, we can easily browse for ample recruitment advertisements and working experiences. However, this information online is prone to be fake. My own experience can serve as a compelling example. Last spring, when I was searching for an internship online, I found countless advertisements that provided false job information and numerous recruiters who pretended to offer fascinating opportunities. By contrast, in the past, this information is usually published in the newspaper, which is much more credible.

In conclusion, finding a safe and prosperous job is far more difficult in today's society than before because of the increasing competition, changing market, and fake information today.