Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect in your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

—Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

—Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then take to the teacher or meeting leader

—Say nothing

Interaction between speakers and listeners plays an essential role in their communication. We may encounter a situation where the teacher or the meeting leader makes some mistakes when giving a lecture. Some choose to ignore and stay silent, some may point out the mistake instantly. However, from my perspective, it is better to wait and correct the mistake until the meeting or class is finished.

To begin with, expressing your opinion that you think is right with the speaker will strengthen the relationship. Nobody is perfect, and everyone makes mistakes. Commonly, experienced professors give some wrong points in a classroom because of carelessness. If you notice the professor about them after class, they are delighted to correct them in the next class or by email. Moreover, you can get an opportunity to exchange views with the professor in this way. The speaker may have a positive impression of you. Therefore, your relationship would be undergirded. My own experience can serve as a compelling example. Last semester, I took a computer science course at the university. I listened to the professor carefully in class and sometimes pointed out the negligence made by the lecturer after class. I also seized the opportunity to share my academic thoughts with the professor. Finally, the professor believed that I was a motivated student and was glad to give me a strong recommendation letter. On the contrary, if I had kept silent while facing the situation, I would not have got the connection with the professor.

However, expressing your thoughts instantly may jeopardize the relationship between not only you and the speaker but also you and other listeners. For one thing, interrupting the speakers shows no respect to them, which may make them feel annoyed. For another, other listeners would have a negative impression of you because they think you are rude. What is worse, there is the possibility that you misunderstand the speaker and the speaker actually has no error. On this occasion, you will lose face and be extremely embarrassed. For example, when I was in high school, I attended a lecture where the lecturer was a renowned writer. I thought the lecturer made a mistake and immediately interrupted him. However, it turned out that I misunderstood him. As a consequence, I was taunted by my classmates, which destroyed my confidence. By contrast, if I had communicated with the speaker at the end of the lecture, I would not have been laughed at by anyone.

In conclusion, I hold that waiting until the meeting or class is finished and then correcting the mistake made by the speaker is the best choice because of the benefit to the relationship.