Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Througout history, young people somewhat have been dependent to their parents. A controversial question that is often raised regarding this issue is whether in today’s world young people are more dependant to their parents in comparison with the pasts. Some people possess the conviction that nowadays people are more dependent to parents, while others hold exactly the opposite view and allege that apparently teenagers are not dependant to their parents as well as the past century. I personally contend that people are not as dependant as the past. To substantiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is with this issue that with the advancement of technology alongside the increasing rate of literacy, young people have access to various resources. In other words, parents were the only source of consulting, whereas todays, individuals can find comprehensive information merely by surfing internet. The noteworthy statistics revealed by recent social research conducted in my country show that 70 percent of mand and 63 percent of women are inclined to use information of internet as a guidance for their decisions. Therefore, parents play less important role in making decisions of their children comparing to the past.

The second rationale behind this issue is rooted in the fact that due to the occurred changes in education and occupation, it is not probable that parents can give precise and right information. In other words, owing to the expansion of science and technology and consequecntly, generation of new profissions, parents cannot have enough data about all fields. Thus their knowledge could not fulfill the needs of their children. In order to make this more clear, consider my personal experience. When I was 18 years old, I had to opt a disiplinary to continue my education. At that time, my parents advised me to join civil engineering deparment because they thaught that in this field I would find better jobs. Although I felt tendency to computer science, I joined civil engineering department. By the passing of time I came to the result that that advice was erroneous. Had I searched from more knowledgable people, I would have better choice.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that young people prefer to use internet instead of parents’ information to make decision.