Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Workers are more satisfied when they have many different types of tasks to do during the workday than when they do similar tasks all day long.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today’s world, by the development of knowledge and different skills, contrary to past centuries, be a specialist and professionalist in a specific field is of vital importance. A controversial question which is often raised regarding this issue is whether employees are more pleased doing different types of tasks during a day rather than doing similar tasks all day long. Some people possess the conviction that the former could be more satisfactory for workers whereas others hold exactly the opposite and allege that the latter is more fruitful. I personally contend that this issue is fultifaceted. If we want to consider it from the lens of a worker, doing various types of tasks would be more desirable. To substatiate my point of view, the following paragraphs represent a cursory glance at the most outstanding reasons.

The first reason coming to mind to elucidate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that from psychological point of view, not only doing similar tasks could be boring and tedious for workers, but also might reduce efficiency and productivity of work forces. In fact, when you repeat identical works all day and thses become your habits, your brain will accostom to do tasks spontaneously; hence you would not pay enough attention to the task. As a result, it leads to reduction in accuracy and consequently, reduction in efficiency. Besides, doing identical tasks all day could be tenacious. A bored worker would would not concentrate on his or her tasks and just want to finish the work. Consider my personal experience to make the point more clear. When I was in my early years of work, I was employed in a consultant company which was expertised in structural engineering. First days was very stimulus and full of new experiences for me. But after one year, doing similar works caused some spiritual and mental problems. I felt depression. Therefore, I decided to retire from that job possition.

The second rationale behind this opinion is rooted in the fact that people always want to make progress. As long as you do same tasks, you cannot learn different skills and experience different dilemmas. So, this trend could not leads people to higher positions and decent jobs. In my opinion, most people who are prosperous, got involved in different tasks in their professional. I do not mean people should do works that are completely distinct and unrelavant. I think people should learn different aspects of their field. For instance, I, as a civil engineer, exert my effort to learn different softwares relavant to my expertise. Also I try to cooperate in field works in addition to tasks that are conducted by computer.

In brief, contemplating all the aforementioned reasons, one soon realizes that doing different tasks would be a better choice not only fore the workers, but also for companies. Consequently, it is highly recommended that companies give a chance to their employees to do different jobs.