Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I share the opinion that today, young people are better able to make decisions about their lives than in the past and no longer need to depend on their parents to make decisions for them.

To begin with, in this Internet era where information explodes around the world, young people have easy access to all sorts of information. They can benefit from well-equipped libraries with both books and online resources. It is easy for them to look for information about the topics they are concerned with. Also, thanks to the development of technology that offers plenty of information, young people might even be more knowledgeable than their parents in some aspects. Therefore, there is no need for them to ask their parents for help, since they are able to find useful and systematic advice on their own. Another remarkable point is that nowadays a lot of people share their own experience on the Internet. By reading their words, young people can quickly evaluate the choices they face and choose the ones they deem correct.

In addition, since the times have changed, young people see thing differently and have a unique outlook on live. They may no longer share the same point of view with their parents anymore. For example, my mother and I do not have the same views on marriage. She insists that girls should get married at a young age, and that it is meaningless to struggle for a better life. She thinks that I might as well find a rich husband. But I do not agree that spending all my time looking for a Mr. Right is the most meaningful thing in my life. Sometimes we have to admit that parents do not understand us, and vice versa. How can we depend on them to make decisions for us if we do not even solve problems in the same way?

Last but not least, more and more young people go to university and develop their own social networks, which include friends, alumni and professors. These people are all keen to offer help and can sometimes give us inspirations, especially the latter. Of course, these people do not make decisions for us, but they play an important role during our decision-making process. For example, a professor might give a lecture about business management that arouses a young student's interest. The student, fascinated by this subject, might talk to the professor for further information and receive the information that he needs to decide whether business management is a right career path to him.

In conclusion, in today's world where information flourishes and where people other than parents play an essential role in young people's decision making, parents are no longer authoritative decision holders.