Do you agree or disagree with the following statement In the past young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives Use specific reasons and examples to su

As the world improves, there are lots of social phenomenon being beginning to change correspondingly, one of which is that the young generation are increasingly making their own decisions about their personal developments, even though some people disagree with this or can't notice this tendency. I have to admit that it's indeed happening nowadays. I feel this way for two main reasons, and I will develop these ideas by subsequent paragraphs.

Admittedly, parents still play crucial role in making decisions for their children, but either those parents are in limited numbers or the facts have been exaggerated to some extent. It is undeniable that parents do have rich experience which will be helpful to guide their kids, but the ultimate purpose lies in young people's own capacities of dealing with diverse hardships and setbacks. Hence, making decisions by the young themselves is supposed to hold a dominant position, rather than giving this right to their parents.

Generally, nowadays the cutting-edge technologies enable the young generation to be confident of making their own decisions without the help of other experienced people. Contrary to the past when information is extremely limited and hard to obtain, the young living in current era have tremendous advantages over information or guidance. For example, in the past, when we are required to select our ideal university, due to lack of reference information, we virtually follow our parents’ suggestions. By contrast, currently, the Internet provides almost everything including the ranking of the university, the best subject and the size of the campus, all the information can be known before you step into the university.

On the other hand, parents today place more emphasis on children's independence. Parents are gradually aware of the importance of the young generation's ability to make decisions or self-management. Clearly, they understand that there are a great number of vibrant competitions awaiting for their kids. If those young people are not prepared mentally or physically to face such situation, it is just like a bunch of fish into a tank full of sharks, they won't survive. Thus, parents set out to give young people enough freedom to foster their personal capacities at the very beginning. Under this kind of environment, today young generation with no doubt are better able to be determined when they come across specific issues that are important to their life.

To sum up, the techniques and parents' role are responsible for the phenomenon that young generation are more independent of making decisions.