Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People are happier when they give money to charity or a good cause rather than when they spend it on themselves.

Nowadays, with rapid modernization ongoing, individuals have witnessed the unprecedented accumulation of material affluence. How to expend extra money is still an earnest concern among the public. Some people reckon that we had better allocate the money to satisfy our own needs, while others hold a reverse viewpoint that it will be more beneficial to us to distribute the money to charity or a good cause. As far as I am concerned, I definitely concur with the latter idea, and what I believe can be substantiated as follows.

In the first place, giving money to charity and a good cause can directly improve your life satisfaction and well-being. As we all know, human beings are social animals, and our intuitions guide us to give hand to others when they are facing a crisis. When you support others, you can readily have a sense of achievement since you are needed by others. It is enormously difficult to derive this feeling from expending money on yourself. Moreover, when you receive thanks letters or other types of appreciation from others, it will reinforce your belief that your life is meaningful and that you are contributing to others' lives and welfare as well. According to a series of empirical research in the field of psychology, it is investigated that giving money to others is significantly associated with life satisfaction and even can facilitate positive mental cognitions.

In addition, just because you spend money on others does not mean the money will not deliver benefits to your life and improve your happiness in a long term. To illustrate, donating money to some scientific organizations committed to studying renewable energy will curb further pollution and decrease the exhaust and emission of greenhouse gases and toxic compounds, which will be conducive to your physical and mental health. Spending money on some charity organizations focusing on women’s protection will improve the situation of all women around the world. Imagine that you are a female student. After graduating from the university, owing to your money donated to these organizations, you will benefit from the narrowed disparity between men and women in companies in terms of salary, rights, and even extra welfare.

Admittedly, you’re also equipped with the power to utilize your hard-earned money to buy something you want or to experience something you dream about. You are capable of possessing some direct happiness and rewards in this process. Nevertheless, those feelings are just like bubbles. They will easily fade off, and if you spend money in an improper way, you even will fall into the pitfalls of consumerism with ease. The deficiencies are supposed to be emphasized before further actions aiming to spend money.

In a nutshell, although everyone has his own right to decide how to spend money, every single penny we earned should be made full use of. Charities and good causes still come top of the agenda if we care about others’ and our lives in the future.