Do you agree or disagree with the following statement People should focus on the happiness of others instead of their own happiness use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

There is no shortage of opinion on how indispensable is the role of happiness in our lives. In this regard, some are of the opinion that helping others would bring more consent for us, while others thoroughly disagree with this idea. Regarding this controversial issue, I subscribe to the idea that happiness is more about helping ourselves. I feel this way for a couple of reasons, which I will develop in subsequent paragraphs.

First of all, If people do not help themselves in the first place, they will lose their mind relaxation and will get sorrowful. People can help many individuals, but if they do not assist themselves in finding remedies for their challenging obstacles, they will not benefit from mind relaxation. Hence, the significant step in getting happy is to free our brains of various stress and tensions. I have to admit that my personal experience profoundly impacts my opinion on this matter. Once in college, we had to prepare a final project about mathematics. Since I was endowed with great knowledge in writing codes on mathematical software, my friends asked me to help them. I patiently helped all of them to write their project. In contrast, I could not allocate the required time for doing my own project. As a result, I could not get the expected grade, and I got upset about it. Had I helped myself doing the project first, I would have gotten a more acceptable grade, and I would have been happier.

secondly, helping ourselves outweighs helping others because one cannot concentrate on aiding others while struggling with the sense of dissatisfaction. People who have a lot of concerns, are mainly distracted by their own hardships and are trying to solve their thought-provoking issues. Moreover, in the long run, these people will get sullen and reluctant to communicate more with others because they have several concerns in their minds. Hence, unhappy people cannot help others to solve their hardnesses. Drawing from my own experience, when I was in high school, I was afflicted by depression due to my imperfect and obese appearance. I did not want to communicate with my peers because I was feeling insecure and miserable. Once my friend asked me to reconcile her with her sister, but I could not talk with her sister because I was feeling shy and afraid of being judged by my look. Had I not have substantial problems, I would have helped my friend solve her trouble.

In conclusion, In light of the reasons mentioned, I believe that helping ourselves in the first stage would be more beneficial for us and will bring more joyfulness. I feel this way because by helping ourselves not only can we enjoy more peace of mind, but also we can concentrate on solving others’ problems better.