Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In the current century, people involve themselves in the plethora of works based upon the need and desires and with or without the particular objectives. Concerning to the current people, although some may accede with the fact that people fulfill all their required duties rather focusing on the things that affords the personal enjoyments, I personally argue that people are truly being ignorant on their objectives investing majority of time in their personal enjoyment. I will substantiate my particular position in the subsequent paragraphs.

The foremost reason why I am in support with the idea is: people tend to deviate from their long term career paths being blindly grounded on the short term joy; surely, technology played the great role in this. For the supporting example one need no look further than my neighborhood scenario. The son of the ex-army officer, who took computer applications coursework as the major in his undergraduate study, dropped out his study in mid-way being extensively addicted to online gaming. Not only he forfeit his study but also his health get deteriorated to the large extent in expense to the short term fun with his friends. As a result, he is undergoing a serious psychiatric treatment in the hospital.

Another subtle reason that strengthens my argument is that individuals are not updating themselves with the time; rather they are devoting more time on the leisure activities. The evident example can been seen in the current government employees here in Nepal. Having occupied the position from past 15 years, some people were found, upon inspection, gossiping about the current government leadership and scrolling through the social media sites. Surprisingly, the operating system in the desktop dates back to 90's. They are highly reluctant to update themselves with the time. Obviously, it would be highly fruitful if they learned about the advanced computer systems and basics of the programming language which would have resulted in the efficient functioning of the government systems.

The lack of urge to contribute to the societal impact is the final reason that will substantiate my position. The way youths are approaching the adulthood seems to lack the incentive to contribute to the society through their acquired knowledge and skills. For instance, spending time in catering research skills and programming skills would surely impact the aspects of society to a great extent. Instead, youths choose to go and party with the friends as a means of personal enjoyment. As a results, youth will have less time on focusing towards such motives that would have influenced the shape of society to a great extent.

Taking into account of above stated reasons, I strongly argue that the peoples are extremely ignorant about their deeds spending more time on the personal enjoyment.