Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?  People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.  Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

During the past centeries there has been a lot of inventions that affected the human's life. Many claim that these inventions had an enormous impact on the culture and the way that people live. Some people think that the people of today spend too much time on personal enjoyment. This idea has been a topic of discussion especially in the last couple of decades as the technology has improved immensely. I disagree with this idea. I believe that people of today are doing just fine and they spend time the way that they should. I will elucidate my point of view in the rest of this essay.

First, people now don't have to do a lot of activities that people in the past had to do and this saves them a lot of time. Humans in the past had to struggle only to provide their essential needs for living. For example, they didn't have water at their homes and they had to walk for maybe hours just to bring some water for drinking. In this way they had to spend a lot of their time in a day just to do simple tasks like these. But because of the advances in the technology, these tasks have become way easier and no one has to spend a lot of time on these kind of activies anymore and as a result people have more leisure time that can be used for personal enjoment.

Second, I believe that if someone wants to be successful at something, that person should do what he likes. If the job that you do is not a personal enjoyment you will only suffer. Because many people don't like what they do at their jobs, they get bored and resentful at work. They only seek free times and they try to find ways to evade the work they have to do. Many great and successful people have mentioned this point. For example there is an famous saying from Steve Jobs that states : the only way to do something great is to love what you do. So I believe that people should spend more time on personal enjoyments and make a living from that enjoyment.

To sum up, because of the advances of technology poeple of today has more time to spend on personal enjoyments and also if one wants to be successful he should do what he loves not what he has to do.