Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Playing computer games is a waste of time Children should not be allowed to play them Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

With the advancement of technology, computers become basic equipment for students, due to myriads of learning resources on the internet. Some of parents stated that students who own computers would waste time on playing computer games, while others choose to believe that playing games are beneficial to children. For me, I agree with the latter one.

First of all, leisure activities are necessary in children’s daily life, because children, even adults, have to take a rest. Then, computer game plays a important role in children’s leisure activities. They could help children relieve their stress on academic works. Furthermore, some researches claims that adequate rest, such as computer games, could efficaciously increase the efficiency of learning. After the rest, we could think in a better way. Therefore, playing computer games isn’t a waste of time because it is a great leisure activity for children.

Secondly, online games are good path to meet some new friends. While playing computer games, children might enjoy cooperating with others and it would be a rare chance to know a new friend. Through the process of playing online together, they might go out playing and become closer eventually. However, some parents would argue that friends that meet online are always not good people. But if we make friends more carefully and don’t easily believe others, it wouldn’t be a trouble. Consequently, time that used to playing games could be utilized wisely to make new friends.

Admittedly, parents consider that children couldn’t acquire any knowledge in computer games, so, in parents’ mind, it’s such a waste of time. However, when playing computer games could learn knowledge and even improve our thinking skills. Strategy games, for example, that you have to come up with a method to conquer every stage could train children the ability of thinking correctly and creatively. In this case, I didn’t consider that was such a waste of time for children. In the contrary, playing computer games have great influential to children’s learning.

As a result, computer games seem to be harmful to children’s growth, but, in practical, they have lots of advantages, such as learning knowledge and expanding social networks, for children.