Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Primary school is considering to spend more time on teaching young students (5~11) technology (like computer) than teaching music and art.

Learning in primary school is a crucial process to influence children’s behaviors. No one can deny that there are both positive and negative aspects of the lessons which young students should learn in the classroom. Some people may state that the new technology in 21st century is a necessary skill for kids, while others think that music and art could cultivate the young students’ vision of beauty. In my opinion, I think young students should be taught through music and art field which help them develop the body condition completely and explore their future careers in different subjects.

To begin with, through the artistic and musical lessons, young students could develop their physical body in a comprehensive way. On the other hand, the teaching of technological devices brings a bad influence on their eye vision, and the addition of electrical products. To be specific, according to the research of human behaviors from Harvard University in 2020, it proposed that kids between five and eleven years old who have utilized technology were always getting lower grades at school compare with other students who were not touching any electric devices before eleven. Meanwhile, those students who were not intact the computer, video games, and smartphone, did well on aesthetic skills like drawing and playing instruments. These processes encourage young students to develop muscles and control their behaviors. As a result, the children attain a broad development on their physical conditions.

Second, learning about art and music could foster the young students’ interests. In addition, if they found talent in these fields, they will contribute to the professions in their future career. Take Louis Kohn as an example, he loved to draw on papers in the art class and to play LEGO at his primary school. However, he realized that he was not interested in the mathematics and computer classes because those lessons always limited the students’ imagination in the calculators or devices. During the artistic practices, his parents found that he was really talent at transforming two-dimension graphics into three-dimension spaces. After several years, Kohn decided to choose architecture as his major and became a well-known architect in the world. It is certainly to see that learning about art and music could encourage students to know their character in their lives.

In light of the reasons mentioned, I strongly believe that learning art and music brings several advantages for young students. It is not only helping the kids develop in a complete way in the process but also cultivating their interests in these fields.