Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Some people think making sure that others (influential people or potential employers) know about your strengths and accomplishments can help you to succeed. If you do not do this, you won't have a successful life.

The success stories of numerous world-renowned celebrities justify the idea that one's bright future is held in the palm of his own hand. Being discovered and acknowledged by influential people, or potential employers, is only a fortunate encounter, or a good opportunity. Taking advantage of their help might make it easier to obtain a satisfactory post. Nonetheless, whether one can finally succeed or not depends largely on his consistent efforts. Previous accomplishments have already become history. Therefore, one's strengths should be further developed and new accomplishments achieved, otherwise such opportunities will be wasted and futile. As far as I am concerned, being accepted and sustained by others is only an external rather than decisive factor of success.

As a matter of fact, not all opportunities lead to success. We should hold an objective attitude about the relationship between favorable chances and success. Kevin Geary used to say, " Success happens not by chance, but because you were given a chance and took advantage of it." In other words, meeting an opportunity is only a stepping stone toward a potential future success. Showing off before certain people and letting them know one's strong points might be helpful, but is by no means a decisive factor that directly leads to prosperity. If a person manages to convince an influential figure of his merits and achievements, he is more likely to be promoted to a higher position or work on an important project. That indeed paves the way to his success. Nonetheless, suppose this person becomes overly self-contented and stops making great efforts? Then the blessed opportunity will be wasted. No matter how brilliant his past used to be, his future will not be promising. Therefore, seize the opportunity and continue to work diligently, as this is the key to success. Neither step should be neglected.

In addition to great opportunities, tremendous efforts an d self-reliance, there are other essential elements that help to guide a person into their successful future. In today's complicated society, being successful is never an easy task, but involves the combined effects of those factors. To illustrate, many highly-valued inner qualities like wisdom, honesty, creativity, a strong sense of responsibility, modesty, generosity, courage and kindness are characteristics found in most successful individuals. Outstanding abilities and comprehensive skills are also required.

In summary, no one else is entitled to claim to be the only determining factor in a person's promising future. What should be taken into account is the real function of opportunities. The elements of success involve more than just attention from others. The untiring efforts of an individual are keys to success. After all, success never comes to those who are overly obsessed with waiting for opportunities.