Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Providing Internet access is just as important as other services, such as building roads, so governments should offer Internet access to all of their citizens at no cost.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Currently, the internet has already become to one of the most crucial things in humans’ daily lives. In this case, there is an issue that whether our government should provide the free internet to all of citizens. Some people argue that the government should offer the no charging internet to whole people, well others otter that our government should not do that. The latter point of the view, I believe, is more reasonable.

First of all, it is providing the free internet to all of citizens that increases the financial burdens of government. This is because before the free internet was offered by government, everyone needs to pay for government. However, no one needs to pay for government after the free internet was provide. According to the research done by Yale University, about 800 million dollars were paid by individuals who used internet last year, and our government allocated these 800 million dollars for students who could not afford expensive tuition fees and building roads in some poor areas. Whereas, if our government provide the fee internet for all people, it means that our government will lose these 800 million dollars. Undoubtfully, the financial burdens of our government will increase a lot.

Secondly, our government should pay energy and money for making our internet more safety instead of just providing the free internet. This is because the current internet usually is not safety enough. Therefore, if our government directly offered the free internet to all of citizens now, some unexpectable problems will happen. For example, our current internet is not safety enough. Therefore, some hackers can access our computers and mobile phones easily through our internet now. in this case, if our government provide the free internet for all citizens, hackers will have more opportunities to get into more individuals’ computers. Furthermore, if a rich person connects the free internet, hackers will get into her or his computer to steal some vital information of stakes, that will cause a serious economics problem to our society. In this case, it is obviously to see that our government should pay money and energy for making the internet more safety not just providing the free internet to all citizens.

In conclusion, since providing free internet to all of citizens can improve the financial pressures of our government and is not safety enough, so I still insist on my point.