Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Friendship and making friends are always the one of the most important things among people in this well-developed society. Without good friends, it will be tough for people to survive in this society no matter what aspect. However, different people will treat each other differently because they have a different status in one’s heart and mind. depend on the statues, people will be treated differently in different situations; therefore, some people may express that the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over long period of time is mroe important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily. As long as I am concerned, both abilities are of the same importance.

In this society, a good friend who is really caring and can bear the risk for you is hard to find. As time goes on, people’s cognition of the world is gradually completing. when facing a cruel and deceptive world, people are self-restricted to give oneself integrally to another. This condition makes a good friendship to become more precious and even hard to obtain, so people ought to have the ability to maintain the friendship they have. In this way, people will keep friends who are really caring about them easily. Because of the well understanding among each other on mood, mind, and hobby; people will truly get the happiness from this.

On the other hand, the ability to make new friends easily is also substantial. In one’s life, it is difficult to stay in one place without changing, because people will always develop unstoppably and need to advance towards a higher level, which means they will change and live into a new place at the same time. Besides, the more friends you make, they more ways you get to solve a problem. In the new environment where people are distant from their old friends, they need some new friends in order to survive more easily and successfully no matter what condition it is. In another word, to obtain the pleasure and happiness in a new condition, people need to make new friends. In this way, they will have an external reliance when they encounter problems or difficulties, or they get a way to express their mood when they are frustrated. For instance, when I left my home country to access a better education in the U.S., it is my first time to totally get away from my best friends who still lived in my fatherland. Also, it is my first time to feel what lonely is. Because I do not have any friend their, my life become boring, and the only thing left are study, loneliness, and miss. Nonetheless, everything changes after I make my first group of friends in school. Because of their help, I have never fallen into the difficulties anymore. because of their care, I do not feel lonely anymore.

In summary, someone might say that it is improtant to have ability of maintain friendship in a group of people, and others would tell that make new friends easily is important for happiness; however, in my opinion, they are as important as each other. Just as the beautiful rose with its green leaves, the loss of either part will possibly make its beauty incomplete. the same is true with these two ability, because people need to have long-lasting friendships to give them the warmth on heart, and they also need to make new friends at the same time in order to obtain the new happiness when they move into different places in their life.