Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Some people think having classes on the Internet is good, while others think having classes with a teacher in the classroom is good.

Which one do you prefer and why?

Learning is a lifelong process that can benefit almost every member of society. Different people have different preferences when it comes to learning. I think learning online is better than in the traditional classroom setting.

First, online learning is more time-efficient than learning in classrooms. People today are always busy with heavy schedules pushing them to do many things every day, and online learning is convenient enough to fit into people’s busy schedules. For example, people can watch a course replay in the middle of the night or out in the jungle adventuring. This flexibility allows people to utilize small pockets of time here and there to make learning possible in their busy lives without investing large blocks of time, which a traditional classroom course would require. Moreover, people would spend much time commuting if they opt for conventional classroom teaching. Commuting can take hours, especially when their travel plan meets the peak hours, not to mention that sometimes traffic jams will make them risk failing to be punctual for their classes in addition to the extra time wasted in traffic.

Second, online learning provides an affordable education choice to many. Traditional education can be somewhat costly, which is evident in that many students pursue further education with the help of student loans. In other words, costs can be one of the most critical determinants in deciding if someone wants to learn something new formally. And this is why online learning is preferable compared to traditional classroom learning. With learners not confined to a particular geographic region, more customers can purchase the same course, potentially boosting the profit online courses can make. This handsome profit attracts more course providers to enter the industry, intensifying competition. As competition increases, online courses will inevitably become cheaper since all the competitors would not want their pricy products priced out of the market. But this is not true for traditional classes. Typically, institutions, such as primary schools or colleges, provide them to the locals. So, local people, particularly the juveniles, would not have many choices, allowing these institutions to be in a somewhat monopolized position, insensitive to adjusting the prices they charge to their customers.

To conclude, learning online is more efficient and affordable than in conventional classroom settings.