Imagine that you want to improve your performance in order to get better grades (marks) at school or to get a promotion or higher pay at work. You are considering the following ways:

- Doing additional work or extra assignments beyond what is required

- Participating more actively and contributing your own ideas more frequently in group discussions.

Which ONE of these two actions do you think would be more helpful for improving your performance? Why?

Studying and working are two core phases of a person’s life. And I believe that doing extra work can improve academic achievement and bring more career rewards.

First, doing more assignments than required can help students get good grades. The most common form of them consists of exercise questions. And doing more of these offers students better opportunities to identify the difficulties they have in solving such questions. And they can then either refer to textbooks for solutions or ask their teachers to explain what they have problems with, thus improving their ability to solve similar questions correctly. Furthermore, when they have done a considerable amount of exercise questions, they will be able to figure out general rules about how to solve them, ultimately increasing their efficiency at working out exam questions. And when students have mastered accuracy and speed, they will be able to solve more questions correctly during major exams, eventually improving their grades.

Second, doing additional work benefits people’s career prospects. Typically, the more work people do, the higher output they can produce, generating more income for their business. When business directors realize this increase in income, they are likely to notice those valuable employees who have done extra work to help boost their revenue. If they wish to continue having this additional revenue in the future by keeping such employees around, they will ensure so by promoting them or offering them higher compensation. Even if directors sometimes fail to acknowledge the contributions such employees made and have done nothing in return, they can change to better-paying jobs with potentially higher positions by demonstrating the value they can create for prospective business owners. Either way, working more offers people more occupational benefits.

To conclude, doing more work can help students achieve higher grades and aid employees with their career development.