Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The study of history is a vital part of a University’s curriculum. However, students of areas other than the study of humanity do not need to spend time on that discipline.

Although history courses can benefit students, there are many more urgent issues for a university student to face. For example, poverty-stricken students might find moonlighting to financially support their families much more valuable than learning about historical facts. College tuition and ever-rising living expenses can place much burden on people today, making seeking novelty or sating curiosity during a history class luxurious and out of practice. Also, many senior students are using internship opportunities to pave the way for their future career development. The reason is that after graduation, they will immediately face fierce competition among their peers to get the jobs they want. And when they are in an interview, previous internship experiences can offer them a much-needed edge over other candidates. Both activities help students in more pragmatic and profound ways than taking history lessons, which brings no direct benefit to them.

Furthermore, students are already busy with their coursework, and they would not have the leisure to take history classes. For example, they will need to complete assignments, attend tutorials and prepare for exams. All these coursework are the core requirements for them to graduate, and they can take up a large chunk of a student’s time. Today, we frequently see students suffer from health problems caused by deprived sleep. For them, taking history courses would worsen their already tight time budget, placing higher risks on their health conditions. Even if they can squeeze out some time for themselves, they can better utilize this scarce free time for recreation. And with sufficient rest or entertainment, they can not only complete their academic tasks more efficiently but also become physically and mentally healthier. Hence, spending time on history courses is not an efficient or healthy choice for university students.

In conclusion, taking history courses for students other than majoring in humanities is impractical and wastes their precious time.