Some people think classic movies or tv shows have greater value, while others think new movies are more enjoyable.

Which one do you agree? And why?

In the wake of urbanization, most people live in cities today. With more people comes fiercer competition, which means most people would now face increasing pressure, making entertainment an inseparable part of modern life. Although many people prefer watching newer movies, I believe classic ones are more valuable for the following reasons.

First, classic movies or television shows have endured picky selection over time. Many new movies and television programs enter the entertainment market each year, but only a few will be around decades later. And this is because the producers sometimes do not even know how well the audience will appreciate their works, thus producing many unpopular ones. So, watching newer movies will inevitably increase the chance of encountering poorly made ones, wasting precious time needed for recreation. However, the experience of watching classic movies is different. Critics and commentators will closely examine newly released movies to make comparisons to find out the well-made ones. Even if their preferences represent their personal opinions, meaning their choices might not align with everyone else, their comments will still serve as a rough guideline for people to decide if those movies are worth watching. The reason is that when so many individuals share their feedback, their collective judgments are more likely to be objective, filtering out the uninteresting ones. And this means that watching a classic movie will likely be enjoyable since many other people have tried them out already.

Second, the entertainment industry today is profit-driven. To be more precise, movie directors care more about how much money they can make than how well-received their movies are. The result is that they will pay stronger emphasis on making the highest profit in ways that might deem inappropriate by their predecessors. For example, many movies now star celebrities primarily based on their popularity instead of their acting skills, which was unheard of in the past. Consequently, no matter how well-written the scripts are, these actors may make awkward conversations with unnatural facial expressions or stiff body language, ruining the movies. However, their fans would still be eager to buy tickets to watch those movies to see their idols in action and show their support. These movies are like bad coins, driving out the good ones, making it hard to find decently produced movies with professional acting and plots. Even when some movie producers treat their professions seriously and have produced good-quality works, they might lack funding for propaganda, which means not many people would know about them. Therefore, the majority of movies today will still be unentertaining.

To conclude, movies in the past are more valuable because they are enduring, and new movies are generally unentertaining because of their inferior quality.