Some people think that if companies prohibit sending emails to staff on weekend or during other time out of office hours. Staff's dissatisfactions with their companies will decrease. Others think this will not reduce the overall dissatisfactions among staff.

What do you think and why?

Many companies send emails to their employees regardless of whether it is during office hours. Many argue that this approach does not affect employee satisfaction. However, from my perspective, emailing employees during their time off is problematic, so companies should avoid doing so to reduce employee dissatisfaction.

First, although it is common practice for companies to send work-related emails to employees out of office hours, most employees are not fond of this practice. For one, working itself is generally deemed exhausting. For another, many jobs can be demanding and thus make employees stressed. Most of the time, employees can somewhat handle these negative emotions while working since that is part of what they should do as an employee. As a result, they would prefer to have undisturbed weekends or holidays to direct their attention to something more enjoyable, such as going on vacation in a foreign country or hanging out with their friends. If work notifications come from emails or other working utility applications during these times, employees will feel that their privacy is not respected, ruining their moods. When this happens, it not only adversely affects how well they can rejuvenate so that they can work more efficiently after their days off, but it also blurs the boundary between work and life, making them consistently anxious during and after work. Consequently, employees will lower their satisfaction with their companies. However, if employees can have their free time undisturbed, they will have higher morale the next time they are in their offices.

Second, having weekends and other holidays is the right of employees. Employers pay their employees to perform services, and, other than monetary incentives, the weekends and holidays are also part of the salary package. And this means that employees choose to work for the company partly because of those time off. For example, one might choose a company with more paid leave over another company that requires its employees to work for extra hours without much time off, even if the second company offers a higher salary. So, sending emails to employees during those times can hurt their interests. If this happens frequently, existing employees might hold a grudge against the management team to sue the company for violating employment laws or regulations. None of these can be indications that employees have a high level of satisfaction with the company. Therefore, companies should not email them during their free time to avoid these legal issues and respect employees' rights. When employees feel their rights are guaranteed, their trust in the company will increase, thus ultimately improving their satisfaction with the company.

To conclude, avoiding sending emails to employees during their time off allow them to rest well and respects their employment right, thus will promote their satisfaction with the company.