Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Many people nowadays spend too much money on their pets (dogs, cats, or other animals), although there are better uses for their money.

Pets are human’s animal companions and are considered by many as their family members. However, I believe that people are spending too much on them and should instead use this money to meet the demand for more practical needs.

First, people need this money to help them stay competitive in the labor market. Nowadays, most people face fierce competition at work and might face challenges from fresh graduates who possess comparatively more up-to-date knowledge and skills. As a result, as people get old, they will become less productive, which means they will not be as competitive as younger people and might lose their jobs while needing to support their families. One way to avoid this issue is for people to continue their education, acquiring new skills that would allow them to be more valuable to their employees, thus increasing the stability of their employment. And the money for the education that makes them productive can come from not raising a pet. Typically, the cost of owning a pet at home includes food, medical bills, and toys for pets. From a long-term perspective, money saved from these expenses would be more than enough to pay for people’s continuous education.

Second, human lives matter more than animal lives. Although it is undeniable that pets are humanity’s faithful friends, human lives are at risk for not having enough food or access to clean drinking water. Today, many people live in poverty because of the unbalanced development of the world economy or are refugees fleeing conflicting regions. Their lives are in peril - many would die of famine or warfare if humanitarian aid does not come in time, meaning each dollar saved from not paying for unnecessary things can help. On the other hand, many people from relatively wealthier families keep pets as toys or ways to kill time. And this means that, unlike people living solitarily, they do not necessarily need pets in their lives for companionship. So, if these people can cut unnecessary expenditures on pets and donate such money to those in need, many human lives can be saved.

To conclude, the money saved by not spending on pets can help people stay competitive or help people in grave needs.