Imagine you have two friends who deal with problems in very different ways. One of your friends believes that laughter and taking things lightly (not too seriously) is the best way to find a solution for most problems. Your other friend believes that it is better to be serious and not take things lightly, even when dealing with very small problems.

Which approach do you prefer? Why?

Given the increasing complexity of modern life, almost everyone encounters problems from time to time. I believe the friend who treats problems seriously is employing the preferable approach.

First, seriously treating problems strengthens social relationships. Some people prefer taking things lightly by not worrying about them too much. For them, laughter is the key to solving problems. The downside of this attitude is that when they constantly ignore harsh facts and avoid confronting issues they have to deal with, ensuing complications will accumulate until they get out of control, bringing chaos to their lives. And this would make them seem irresponsible and not trustworthy as social acquaintances. However, if people take problems, even small ones, seriously, they can eliminate potential long-term troubles. For example, when someone finds a car light is not properly functioning and immediately takes action to fix the lighting problem, it will then be unlikely for this person to get into a car accident caused by lighting failures. And when people constantly display zero tolerance for problems regardless of their magnitude, other people will deem them reliable and want to trust them in social relationships.

Second, not taking things lightly by confronting problems right away improves problem-solving skills. Nowadays, people’s lives are becoming ever-more complex, and the need to solve problems by oneself has become crucial. If people keep ignoring problems in their lives, they might feel happy or relaxed for a while, but the next time they encounter similar issues, they still will not possess the ability to tackle them efficiently. In contrast, when people can develop the habit of solving problems timely, they can gain valuable first-hand experience. When running into similar scenarios, they will employ this experience to tackle them relatively successfully and efficiently. Also, the more skilled they are at problem-solving, the higher the probability they can apply this experience to other problems. For instance, when someone knows that computer over-heating is because of poor contact and sometimes later finds out that the electric stove is overheating, he might figure out that cleaning the power cord and properly plugging the cable would cool it down.

To conclude, seriously treating problems when they arise can enhance people’s social relationships with others and help them be more sophisticated at problem-solving.