Teachers of young children at a primary school are considering making one major change to better support the educational and social development of their students (aged 6-10), which one of the following changes do you think is the most important for the teachers to make and why?

- Encouraging students to ask questions in class more frequently than they do now

- Having students work together in pairs or small groups more frequently than they do now

- Meeting with each student's parents more frequently than they do now

Primary school education is one of the founding blocks of a nation's prosperity. I believe that when teachers allow young children to work together in groups more, they can better promote their educational and social development.

First, working within a group enables young children to cultivate interpersonal skills. With the decrease in the birth rate in most countries, many children are now growing up without a sibling at home accompanying them. It can sometimes be difficult for these children to talk to other people, especially if they have faced emotional stress before. For example, bullying is commonplace in many primary schools and can cause mental problems in young children. And this often makes them unwilling to communicate with other people. However, if primary school students can work in groups, they will have more chances to talk to their classmates and even make friends. These social interactions offer them opportunities to practice people skills, such as negotiation, cooperation, or making concessions. With these skills at hand, they will communicate with others more efficiently, which can be crucial when they grow up.

Second, having students working together helps them academically. Although no one can be good at everything, someone can likely be good at something. If a child is doing poorly at a particular subject in school, other children who are good at it might help this child out while working together in groups. For example, a child who is weak at mathematics might receive help from his peers, helping this child overcome difficulties in mathematics. Moreover, teachers might not have a good understanding of children's perspectives, so they might explain ideas in a way that these children cannot easily comprehend. But when young students try to explain intricate concepts to one another, they are likely to share similar angles. Hence, making it more efficient for them to understand these ideas when having group discussions. And this eventually improves their grades at school.

To conclude, allowing students to work in groups helps them develop social skills and improves their academic performance.