Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting advice from friends your same age.

Everyone needs advice at times, and most people ask their peers for help. However, with age comes a greater variety of life experiences, which give one the wisdom and ability to see things in perspective. Therefore, it is far better to receive advice from friends who are older than you than from peers.

First, older friends have more real-world experience, so their advice has greater value. They can indeed give important advice on situations you have not experienced. For example, when deciding what college to attend, my older brother asked his friend in college where he should study. His friend said he should think about the financial aspects, so he suggested finding an inexpensive college where my brother could also get a scholarship. Thanks to his older friend's advice, my brother could be saved from having a heavy student debt in the future.

Older people have made mistakes, so they can help their younger friends avoid the same ones. It is often best to ask older friends for their opinion before making a big decision. One time, when I had a choice between playing baseball for the summer and going to a camp for three weeks, I asked my older friend for help. He said they play baseball at summer camp and I would be sad if I did not go there. Once in the past, he had decided not to go to camp and had joined a soccer club instead. All of his friends had a great time at camp while he was miserable playing soccer without them. His mistake helped me avoid making one myself.

Older friends have more experience dealing with relationships, so they know how to deal with others very well. You can always expect an older person to have a past experience similar to a situation you are experiencing. My girlfriend was mad at me a while ago, but I was too afraid to ask her why. My older friend said that I should ask her directly and that she would tell me if she really liked me. Everything worked out fine thanks to my friend's advice. Older people definitely know more about relationships than younger people do.