Which one of the following qualities do you think is the most important for determining whether a friendship between two people will last a long time? Why?

-They always help each other in a crisis or when something goes wrong.

-They have similar interests and similar views on important topics.

-They trust each other completely.

The solitary nature of modern society makes people today increasingly lonely. Therefore, friendships become an inseparable component of people’s lives. From my perspective, sharing similar interests and similar views on major topics best helps form lasting friendships among the three options provided.

First, sharing similar interests bonds people closer. Most of the time, friends are there to accompany each other, meaning they will spend time doing things together. Without being interested in similar activities, it will be impossible for people to have quality time together, at least from a long-term perspective. The reason is that when people decide to do something together, many would have different opinions, making it hard to agree on what to do. Even if agreements sometimes occur, some must give in, doing things they do not enjoy. And when this happens frequently, people who always make concessions will probably hold some grudge against their friends, damaging their relationships. In contrast, friends with similar interests would have fun doing things together. Through time, this builds precious mutual memories, which, in turn, strengthens bonds among them, creating lasting friendships.

Second, having similar views enhances relationships among friends. The intricate nature of everyday life results in people’s varied perspectives about different issues. And when people realize that some of their friends are holding views opposing theirs, especially regarding sensitive topics, they might feel offended or disappointed. For example, environmental protectionists might be enthusiastic about preserving nature and would criticize any economic activity that places burdens on the environment. But what if their friends are more concerned about human lives threatened by famine or not having access to clean drinking water due to poverty? The only way to save those people from dying is through economic growth, which would almost always cause environmental problems. Both views are creditable to some extent. To be more precise, they cannot easily persuade each other. So, their relationships are likely to be doomed by disagreements or even criticisms against one another. However, if both friends hold similar views on things, they can avoid conflicts and sometimes even back their friends up when they have arguments with others. Ultimately, this friendly support enhances their friendships.

To conclude, sharing similar interests and views on things bonds people closer and avoids conflicts among friends, which eventually makes friendships long-lasting.