Some say that people should make others (important / influential people or potential employers) know about their strengths and accomplishments. Otherwise, they will not have a successful life.

What is your opinion on this statement? Explain why.

In the wake of modernization, most people would not live solitarily, so interacting with others becomes an inseparable part of people's daily lives. From my perspective, showing strengths and accomplishments to others helps ensure a successful life.

First, the alienated mentality in modern society forces people to judge others based on superficial factors. Urbanization is a phenomenon that describes the continuous movement of people from rural areas to the metropolis. When too many strangers live closely together, they will not likely develop too strong a bond with one another since that would be too time-consuming. With this strangeness in mind, many would not invest much effort in getting to know others. And the result is that people will have limited choices in social interactions. In other words, many people would not carry out in-depth conversations with strangers. Instead, they prefer to judge others quickly. For example, resumes are effective instruments for potential employers to know about the qualities of job applicants. The achievements listed in resumes allow hiring managers to compare how valuable each candidate is and determine if they match the requirements and responsibilities of the position. Therefore, people who want to be successful at employment should display their abilities to their potential employers.

Second, strengths and accomplishments can help with social interactions. As social beings, people shares connections with each other in one way or another, which means everyone must socialize with others. Although it might sound cruel, one typically prefers to spend time with attractive people. Their attraction comes primarily from their ability to demonstrate desirable qualities, including their expertise or personal achievements. More often than not, these qualities can make social interactions more enjoyable. For instance, for a professional comedian, telling jokes to people will bring them enjoyment. And enjoyments like this can help make people popular within their social circle. However, if the same comedian decides not to share his humor, other people might find him dull and thus would not have the incentives to develop so robust a social relationship with him. That is to say, failing to display one's desirable qualities to others deprives people of being socially successful.

To conclude, actively showing what one is good at helps with career development and developing social connections.